Getting To Know Strangers

I know most people vote Friday as their favorite day, but I remain that Saturday is the best day of the week! This week was quite a cultural spin for me. While I didn’t do massively important things, I was out most of the days because being a couch potato is a no-no. I am going to share my experiences one by one, starting with “I see you see me.”

The series of vivid neon splotches and framed artworks smacked against a white wall immediately caught my eye as I strolled past. I wouldn’t be lying if I said that there was every shade of every color present on the wall. Corresponding to its theme (an African greeting) “I see you see me” which symbolically translates to “I see, understand and accept your personality”, the artworks, accompanied by a memoir act as idiosyncratic “pieces” of the authors themselves. They reveal the most honest, humorous, frightening, blissful, indignant memories and experiences of fellow Singaporeans.

It feels strange to say this but while I read each artwork I actually felt as if I got to know to each artist even though we were plain strangers. Stepping into the artists’ feet also made me feel refreshed too; it was a nice break from being myself in a non-depressing kind of way.

The gallery, located along the tunnel to the Esplanade, is open to the public eye from 6 August to 8 November all day. Definitely check this mini art gallery out because it will enrich your soul like it did to mine, and it’s time we supported this spontaneity and energy in Singapore!

Until Next time!

Screen Shot 2015-08-21 at 4.59.44 PM

Leave a Reply

