Movie Craze: 500 Days of Summer (2009)

“Today is the day,” I thought to myself. “I’m going to do a movie review on a movie I really should have watched 6 years ago.” Hahaa. I know I know people are going to roll their eyes because this is a classic, almost like a must-watch “Mean Girls.” But at least I tried it today right? Well without further ado, here is my take on the movie.

“500 Days of Summer” is a RomCom starring the 2 most outrageous and amusing actors, Joseph Gordon Levitt (Tom aka. the hopeless romantic) and Zooey Deschanel (Summer aka. the “cold hearted” casual girlfriend.) It explores mainly Tom’s side of the story- as he reflects on the 500 days they’ve been together, when Summer dumps him with not wanting a “serious relationship” as the reason.

Review

Storyline: 6/10

I loved the cute, memorabilia scene at the beginning, when the 2 protagonists was introduced to the movie. It was so sweet because it was as if we were watching grow up.

While I was hooked, and I loved that the scenes transitioned so flawlessly, the plot wasn’t perfect because not every single moment counted. If I were to delete a scene, I bet nobody would really notice because the scenes were all so similar in a way. This would be different in… Disney’s Mulan! (Which is my fav by the way.)

I also didn’t love the ending… I didn’t understand how Summer left the company, then out of the blue, met her future husband 1 or 2 weeks later even though she claimed she wasn’t one for romance. There were a couple holes towards the end when Summer and Tom met on a train out of coincidence- it was abrupt and unnatural.

Chemistry 9/10

But the chemistry was just so on point. Sparks literally flew and my toes tingled when I saw the way Tom looked at Summer. It was so special; it was like they were the only ones in the room. So for that, acting is also on the verge of flying colors. I liked the depth of the characters and how the directors peeled back their skins a little by little, especially Summer!

Aesthetics 9/10

The aesthetics as a whole was so amazing. The lighting, angles, close-ups, flashbacks were the highlights of the movie. It rolled so seamlessly; I was mesmerized.

A few of my FAV parts in GIFS: (because I’m cool like that) [Insert Emoji with sunglasses]

The part I weeped pretty hard inside when the scenes were set up via Expectations VS Reality for Tom.

giphy-1

The Penis Game.

giphy

The beautiful moment Tom tried to show Summer his world of architecture.

giphy-2

The scene where they pretended to be a couple and Tom exclaimed “Huh. All 4 of our sinks are working” and Summer raced him to the bedroom. (I’m sorry there is no GIF for this. But then again WHY aren’t there GIFS for this?!)

tumblr_ntj6clP0pV1tgidy4o1_1280

That INFAMOUS, gutsy scene that describes every boiling emotion

giphy-3

And that’s all for this week babes. The weekend is almost there- you know you can see it!

Have a great day tomorrow!

XOXO

Screen Shot 2015-08-21 at 4.59.44 PM

2 thoughts on “Movie Craze: 500 Days of Summer (2009)

Leave a Reply

